Health no image

Published on March 22nd, 2012 | by Guest Contributor


Balance your Chakras with Yoga

Yoga provides a lot of benefits that are not just physical but also mental. The stretches help to improve various parts of your body such as its flexibility, strength, muscles and even your posture. At the same time, yoga can help you manage stress and help organize your thoughts and fears, calming the mind, which is essential for conditions such as depression and pregnancy. However, aside from both the physical and mental aspects of the body, yoga is also associated with the spiritual aspect of your body, including the belief that humans can balance their energy fields and avoid negative energies that may be harmful or dangerous.

Learning about Chakras

The concept of chakra, meaning wheel, from the Indian traditional medicine, is the circle-like vortices that exist along the spine of living beings. The force centers, or chakras are circles of energy that are considered in the receiving and transmission of energy. There are various systems involving the chakras, however, the most popular in the Western countries is the one of the seven chakras. These chakras have to be balanced, wherein its energy does not overbear or be weaker than the others. According to the concept, these chakras are responsible for the well-being of a living being physically and mentally. Every chakra has its own responsibility for a specific area in the physical body including a range of emotions.

Types of Yoga Commonly Associated with Chakras

Among the many types of yoga, there are a few that can be associated with chakras or focus mainly in mediating the balance of the chakras. One of these is the Anahata yoga, or the kind of Hatha yoga that focuses more on meditation. This yoga opens up the heart center or the Anahata Chakra, beneficial for bad posture, shoulders and lungs.

Another popular type of yoga is the Kundalini yoga, which is focused on the energy of the Root Chakra or the lower spine and its surrounding area. This fast-moving type of yoga is helpful for lower backs as well as for those who are looking to strengthen their core and abdomen.

Yoga Poses to Balance Chakras 

The cobra pose helps the 2nd, 3rd as well as the 4th chakra in the body. In this position that helps to improve the posture as well as the circulation of the blood flow in the vertebrae, the spine is strengthened, the body’s flexibility is boosted and it also has positive effects for the heart.

In the triangle position that helps to trim the thighs and tone the muscles, it also stretches the spine, expands the lungs and strengthens the stomach muscles. This way, the extra weight in the middle of the body can be trimmed off as well. The triangle position is mostly beneficial for the 2nd chakra of the body.

Leg lifts, popular for the 2nd and 3rd chakra, is a yoga pose that helps in strengthening the legs, thighs and stomach muscles as well as those in the buttocks and pelvis area. This pose helps in releasing the tension around the hips. This is also helpful for the fat in the buttocks and thighs.

In the fish yoga position, the chest and the back is stretched fully, especially the dorsal. The position also stretches both the throat and the neck, leaving open the whole part of the heart. The fish position is beneficial for the chakras from the 4th to the 7th.

With regular yoga practice, you can cultivate your inner and outer energy and balance your chakras. Sun Salutations are also wonderful for keeping you balanced. They involve a series of postures that link together movement and breath. See Sun Salutations to Balance your Chakras.


Lexi has been practicing yoga for about 10 years and credits yoga for feeling amazing after taking a class. “I notice that my body and mind would become so calm and relaxed. That’s what got me hooked.” Her website started as a way to teach people the healing powers of yoga, and how it can help change lives for the better.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Modern Hippie Mag is your online resource for hip, healthy, conscious living. All content submitted by our Guest Contributors must adhere to our Code of Coolness. All rights reserved unless otherwise stated.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑